Skip to content

Community First Co-operative Credit Union

Narrow screen resolution Wide screen resolution Increase font size Decrease font size Default font size



About Us PDF Print E-mail

A co-operative is an autonomous association of persons united voluntarily to meet their common economic, social and cultural needs and aspirations through a jointly-owned and democratically controlled enterprise.

The Community First Cooperative Credit Union Ltd (CFCCU) formerly Antigua and Barbuda Teachers’ Co-operative Credit Union Ltd (ABTCCU) was established in April 1959 with the objective of ensuring that teachers and their families could operate their own financial savings.  The Co-operative was registered in January 1982 under the Co-operative Laws of Antigua and Barbuda.  The name change was effected in 2004 complete with a new logo, built on a new image driven by tenets of quality service, innovative products and community spirit. As stated in its charter, its primary mission is “to promote thrift and create a source of credit for provident and productive purposes”. To this end, CFCCU steadfastly throughout its more than 52 years of operation has provided improved and expanded services for the benefit to its members and the public of Antigua and Barbuda.

In 1989 the credit union embraced members of the general community including nurses, civil servants and other professionals along with small business owners and rank and file individuals to form part of the Co-operative. Over the last 7 years, the credit union has realized phenomenal growth in membership, assets, member savings and loans. Membership, has continued to increase and now includes the growing community of non-nationals.
CFCCU is part of the Regional Movement associated through a National League which holds membership with Caribbean Confederation of Credit Unions (CCCU) and with the World Council of Credit Union (WOCCU).

The Credit Union is supervised by the regulatory agency of the Government of Antigua and Barbuda through the Cooperatives Department and in collaboration with the  Eastern Caribbean Central Bank (ECCB ).

At present, Community First Co-operative Credit Union employs 24 full time employees. We have four departments to include: Management and Business Admin, Loans, Accounts and Operations.

Our credit union also has a Board of Directors, Credit Committee and Supervisory Committee which is made up of volunteer members who are elected each year by the general membership at the Annual General Meeting.

Board Members:

  • Francois Sutton- President
  • Ursula Willock
  • E. Patricia Murrain
  • Kathleen Bennettr – Secretary
  • Jannelle Wehner
  • Colin Gordon
  • Thomasine Greenaway-Whyte

 Credit Committee Members:

  • Nerissa Gomes
  • Karel Forde
  • Kerri Gore

 Supervisory Committee Members:

  • Bernadette Jarvis
  • Maureen Hyman
  • Nicole Edwards-Francis


Read our Mission and Vision statements along with our Core Values  



Reactivation of Dormant Accounts:

 Dear Members,

Please note that in order to re-activate accounts that have become dormant (due to inactivity on the account for 1 year) the following documents are required:

  •  Job Letter or Business License
  •  Two (2) Valid Photo IDs ( Passport + One other)
  •  Proof of Address, in your name and not more than 3 months old (Utility Bill or Bank statement (stamped and dated).

Overseas members must ensure that the above mentioned documents are notarized.

You will also be required to make a deposit or withdrawal of at least  E.C. $5.00 to reactivate the account.

These requirements are in accordance with the Anti Money Laundering Policy, Clause 6- Know your Member.

Thank-you for your cooperation



What Community First event would you attend?